Skip to main content

State Historical Society Awards Historic Preservation Grants

Historic preservation projects in Dallas, Dell Rapids, Fairburn, Hot Springs, Sioux Falls, Sisseton and Tyndall recently received matching grants from the South Dakota State Historical Society, as announced by Jay D. Vogt, director of the society.

“This is the 16th year for this historic preservation grants program,” Vogt said. “In 2012 we awarded over $106,700 between 12 projects which will result in a total public-private investment of over $233,500. This program is designed to encourage restoration or rehabilitation of historic properties and is one more way we can promote and protect our history and culture.”

The grants are awarded through the State Historical Society’s Deadwood Fund grant program. Funding for the program is from Deadwood gaming revenue earmarked by state law for historic preservation projects throughout the state. The program is administered by the State Historic Preservation Office at the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre.

The following projects were the most recent to receive grants:
 Dallas: Dallas Carnegie Library, $4,000 for repairing the foundation;
 Dell Rapids: Smith Block, $10,000 for storefront rehabilitation work on windows, corner staircase, exterior foyer, and pressed-metal ceiling;
 Fairburn: Fairburn Hotel, $15,000 for foundation repair;
 Hot Springs: Hot Springs City Hall, $9,000 for repairing the foundation;
 Sioux Falls: The History Club, $8,200 for rehabilitation of historic windows;
 Sisseton: Stavig House Museum, $10,000 for stabilization of the historic front porch and brick chimney;
 Tyndall: Tyndall Carnegie Library, $6,500 for repairs to windows and installation of storm windows.

Deadwood Fund grants are awarded twice a year, with grant application deadlines of Feb. 1 and Oct. 1. Applications are reviewed at the spring and winter meetings of the State Historical Society’s board of trustees.

For more information on the Deadwood Fund grant program, contact the State Historic Preservation Office at the Cultural Heritage Center, 900 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501-2217; telephone (605) 773-3458; or website

The South Dakota State Historical Society is a division of the Department of Tourism. The Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen. The State Historical Society, an Affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, is headquartered at the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre. The center houses the society’s world-class museum, the archives, and the historic preservation, publishing and administrative/development offices. Call (605) 773-3458 or visit for more information. The society also has an archaeology office in Rapid City; call (605) 394-1936 for more information.

Powered by Firespring