Skip to main content

State Historical Records Advisory Board announces grant funding awards

PIERRE, S.D. -- Six state history organizations have been awarded grants through the South Dakota State Historical Records Advisory Board (SD SHRAB).

The organizations that received funding this year and the amounts of their grants include:
• the Dakotaland Museum in Huron, $500
• the Gary Historical Association in Gary, $500;
• the Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center in Deadwood, $500;
• the Gregory County Historical Society in Dallas, $500;
• Yankton College in Yankton, $500; and
• the Fall River Historical Society in Hot Springs, $500.

The SD SHRAB received a $5,431 grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), and $3,000 of the funding was set aside for re-grant funding.

The NHPRC, part of the National Archives and Records Administration, encourages each state and territory to have a historical records advisory board to lead and coordinate records preservation activities in its area. The SD SHRAB was created in 1997 under statutory authority of the board of trustees of the South Dakota State Historical Society, and the members of the SD SHRAB are archivists, historians and records managers from across the state.

“The South Dakota SHRAB advocates for the preservation of historical records, educates the public and records caretakers about the importance of the historical records, and leads the historical community in preserving and providing access to the state’s documentary heritage,” stated Chelle Somsen, state archivist with the South Dakota State Historical Society at the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre and chair of the board.

Local repositories, archival organizations, historical societies, and tribal and local governments were urged to apply for the re-grant funds in order to encourage and support identification and preservation of historical records and training for the staff that care for those records.

For more information see or call the South Dakota State Historical Society-Archives at (605) 773-3804.

The South Dakota State Historical Society is a division of the Department of Tourism. The Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen. The State Historical Society is headquartered at the South Dakota Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre. The center houses the society’s world-class museum, the archives, and the historic preservation, publishing and administrative/development offices. Call (605) 773-3458 or visit for more information. The society also has an archaeology office in Rapid City; call (605) 394-1936 for more information.

Powered by Firespring